Do we really not have enough time?

I was listening to this interesting podcast this morning. The topic is 10 myths creative people tell themselves. The one that I have been thinking about all day is time.

I don’t have enough time to devote to my passion. I don’t have time to learn this skill. I don’t have enough time to dedicate to my business dream. I don’t have time to workout.

I thought long and hard about this and realize that time isn’t really an issue for me. I make time…too much time at times if you can understand that. I research and become obsessed almost with all of the information I need. My problem is I don’t do enough practicing. I spend so much time on my art and dreams and but most of the time my time hasn’t been wisely used. It has, but it can be so much more focused.Okay so maybe I should be honest and say it hasn’t for the most part.

I need to kick things into gear and do it. That’s  why I posted my first try at hand lettering. I want to do good and the only way to do it is practice and more practice. I remember Ed Sheeran saying that to be really good at something you have to do it 5,000 times. He heard this from John Meyer. They followed their passions and are living their dreams today. I want to follow this but sometimes this pesky word gets in the way. Oh yes it is FEAR. This great big fear that tells me that you will put your heart and soul into this and if it flops then what. What will I do? Well to heck with fear. I am just going to keep on practicing and practicing. I am a talented artist.

Leave a Reply

